Mar 13, 2023
Harman Hall

STC’s Annual Mock Trial is back!

Leary of Treason: Goneril v. The Kingdom

Weary of his responsibilities, an aging King Lear divests his lands and power between his daughters based on their declarations of love for him. Cordelia, his youngest, is silent and receives naught. All is then split between Goneril (the eldest) and Regan (the middle sister). Things escalate quickly—feelings are hurt, eyes are gouged out, and various treasons are committed.

We find ourselves at Goneril’s appeal in the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom (after she was denied severance from Edmund’s own earlier trial against… well… everyone). Will the eldest daughter’s appeal garner the results she is hoping for? That’s up to you to decide.

Want to learn more? Check out our full digital Mock Trial program below.


The Bench:
Judge David S. Tatel, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, presiding
Judge J. Michelle Childs,
United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
Judge Paul L. Friedman,
United States District Court for the District of Columbia
Chief Judge Roger L. Gregory, United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Judge Florence Y. Pan, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

Michelle Kallen, Partner, Jenner & Block; Former Solicitor General of Virginia
Shanlon Wu, Partner, Cohen Seglias; Former Assistant United States Attorney & Counsel to Attorney General Janet Reno

Marshal for the Court:
Marshal Pamela Talkin, Former Marshal of the Supreme Court of the United States

Abbe David Lowell, STC Board of Trustees Vice Chair, Chair of the Bard Association

Special Guest:
Rosa Gilmore, Goneril in STC’s King Lear

All titles, participants, and dates subject to change. 

Mock Trial Scenario Committee

Abbe Lowell: Chair, Winston & Strawn LLPMichael Bahar: Partner, Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLPCarol Elder Bruce: Law Office of Carol Elder Bruce, PLLCGregory CookeNina Laserson Dunn, Esq.Burton Fishman: Fortney & Scott LLCDrew Lichtenburg: STC Resident DramaturgLloyd RandolphJohn Vogel: Crowell & Moring LLPCarolyn Wheeler: Katz, Marshall & Banks LLP


Bard Association Sponsors

Eversheds Sutherland LLP
Palo Alto Networks Unit 42

About The Bard Association

The Shakespeare Theatre Company’s Bard Association offers lawyers and other individuals with legal ties the opportunity to experience classical theatre at its finest while building both personal and professional relationships. This unique affinity group provides a valuable connection between the legal community and the arts through networking opportunities, enriching panel discussions and programs, including the popular Mock Trial Series. The panel discussions and other events conduct in-depth examinations into the roles of lawyers and legal issues in many Shakespeare plays and other classic theatre pieces.

Membership in the Bard Association transforms the individual experience from occasional ticket buyer to dedicated patron of the Shakespeare Theatre Company. Members of the Bard Association enjoy exclusive benefits such as advance ticket purchase for the Mock Trial Series and Shakespeare and the Law events, “behind-the-scenes” access to the theatre, and the chance to create a greater awareness of the importance of the arts.

A list of Bard Association membership benefits can be found here.

The Shakespeare Theatre Company Bard Association is generously supported by Eversheds Sutherland LLP and Palo Alto.

For information on the Bard Association, please contact

View photos from previous Bard Association events.

About The Mock Trial Series

“A Washington wonk’s dream” –The New York Times

Conceived in 1994, the Mock Trial Series explores the connection of classical theatre and modern-day law. Tickets to the event have been known to sell out in minutes due to the prominent law professionals it hosts, such as U.S. Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer, Samuel Anthony Alito, Jr., Sonia Sotomayor and Elena Kagan, and the Honourable Suzanne Côté from the Supreme Court of Canada, as well as Chief Judge Merrick B. Garland, Judge David S. Tatel, Judge Thomas B. Griffith, Judge Brett M. Kavanaugh, Judge Amy Coney Barrett, Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson, Judge Patricia A. Millett, Judge Cornelia T.L. Pillard, Judge Robert L. Wilkins, and Judge Douglas H. Ginsburg of the United States Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit.

Read More